segunda-feira, 29 de junho de 2009

Leon Ware - Rockin´ You Eternally (1981)

1. A Little Boogie (Never Hurt No One), Rudolph / Ware
2. Baby Don´t Stop Me (Laudir de Oliveira / Marcos Valle / Leon Ware)*
3. Sure Do Want You Know (Rudolph / Ware)
4. Our Time (Beck / Rudolph / Ware / Williams)
5. Rockin´ You Eternally (Marcos Valle / Leon Ware)**
6. Got To Be Loved (Rudolph / Marcos Valle / Leon Ware)
7. Don´t Stay Away (Ware)
8. In Our Garden (Anderson / Ware)
Elektra 52282
Important note: soon after, Paulo Sergio Valle wrote Portuguese versions for this songs called "A Paraíba Não É Chicago" (*) and "Velhos Surfistas Querendo Voar" (**)

by Jason Elias (All Music Guide)
This 1981 set was the follow-up to Ware's 1979 classic
Inside Is Love. This effort gave him more of a commercial opportunity with a bigger label. The good news here is that Ware didn't change his style that much and served as sole producer. Although one would expect Ware to pull out all of the stops, Rockin' You Eternally features the same likeable and spare band who offers smooth support throughout. Although Rockin' You Eternally is another great effort from Ware, it doesn't start off with a "classic." The first track, "A Little Boogie (Never Hurt No One)," is an odd dance request coming from someone who's known for begging for something else. The synth hook-laden "Baby Don't Stop Me" co-written by Laudir De Oliveira and Peter Cetera has Ware helping himself on backing vocals. On the pleading "Sure Do Want You Now," Ware's vocals are especially impassioned and polished. The hypnotic title track has Ware wanting an extended relationship as he sings, "Don't you know I'm rocking/For the rest of time." On this effort's best track, the instrumental "Don't Stay Away" possesses an intricate melody and a soaring string arrangement from Gene Page. The only bumble here is the final track. "In Our Garden" has Ware tackling the "big issues" about the suffering in this land. It's commendable but you'd just as soon hear him singing about romance. Luckily, the majority of Rockin' You Eternally has Ware doing just that.

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário